A landlord in Michigan can evict a tenant if they breach the lease contract. But in doing so, the landlord must follow the state’s landlord-tenant laws, or else a tenant can file a lawsuit against them. Here’s how the eviction process goes in Michigan.
Step 1. Sending a warning letter
This is an optional choice, but it is useful if you’ve had a good relationship with your tenant and want to let them know they need to move out because they are not adhering to the terms of the agreement. It shows respect, but more importantly, it can help prevent duress on your client.
Send a well-written, polite letter notifying them that their lease is ending or that they are violating the terms of the agreement. You can also inform them that they have until the end of the grace period to pay their rent, or you would proceed with eviction.
Step 2. Following up with a legal notice
Depending on your case, you must send your tenant a notice 7 to 30 days before initiating eviction. On some occasions, this time can be as little as 24 hours. The notice should explain clearly why you want your tenant to move out.
Step 3. Filing and serving eviction complaints
Prepare summons and complaints and file them with the local district court in Michigan. After the court approves, serve your tenant with these documents, telling them the date and time they need to avail themselves for a hearing. If the judge rules in your favor, then the tenant must move out and also pay you all the rent due through landlord and creditor services, if you use one.
Step 4. Moving out
In Michigan, the court will order the landlord to give the tenant 10 days to leave. If they don’t leave during this time, you can go back to the court with a form called “Order of Eviction of Writ of Restitution.” The judge will then advise you on how to proceed.
Don’t rush the process of eviction even if you are unhappy with your tenant. Always follow the steps stipulated by the law to avoid getting into bigger problems.